Karnataka has typical composition of most of the Agro-Climatic conditions in the country. The state has been delineated into 10 Agro-climatic zones on the basis of soil structure, humidity, elevation, topography, vegetation, rainfall and other agro-climatic factors.  Five of them fall under dry zone.  Karnataka State falls in Zone X (Southern Plateau and Hilly region) and Zone XII (West Coast Plains and Ghat region) as per the Agro-climatic Regional Planning of Planning Commission (GOI).   Agro-climatic Zone-wise Land use Statistics for   2007-08 are Description Table


Description Table

Details of Agricultural zones